Day 7 of the '100 Days of Code Challenge'

finish the first week

7 in a Row!

As I started this challenge I hoped that I can build up momentum which helped me to stay focus on reaching my goal as a competent software developer. After the first week, the result is perfect. I invest many hours in coding also besides the work. For me gaining progress in my own project has the highest priority, because with this project I want to grow my skills, build a complete software product from scratch and use my creativity. Hopefully, I'll stay disciplined and go further like this week.

Today diary

Today I thought I could implement further the service which I started last week. But my product owner had another plan for me today. The bug I fixed yesterday works fine on my local test environment. But the tests on our test stages on which our product owner tests all tickets finally before we release a new software version by the customer didn't work. So again I spend the whole day deploying a snapshot version on my personal test stage to recreate the operating condition. But also like in my personal local test environment the software works as it should. At the moment we have no idea why the software reacts differently on the test stage of the product owner.

We have agreed that we wait to continue this bug fixing till our senior developer is back from holiday. At least at the end of my working day, I finished another ticket for that I expanded one of hour Rest-Apis.

In the afternoon I code again on my flutter app. Today I integrate a drawer on the overview screen and implement a dropdown menu. In the next few days, I have to learn the basics of Gitlab so that I can finally use this for my project. In our company, we only work with Jira and confluence and because of this, I don't know anything about GitLab and how to work with it. But many companies work with this software so I want to brighter my horizon and learn to use this software.

For this blogpost, I install Grammarly for my Safari browser and I'm very impressed with how cool it works.