Day 9 of the '100 Days of Code Challenge'

Planing the next steps

today was the last day at work for around about six weeks. So I only finished some last tasks and talk with my colleagues about the todos for the next weeks.

Before I could finish the workday my Product owner call me and asked me about a problem. One of our own written test systems works not as it should with his configuration. The problem was that he needed this tool for a presentation to a customer. So I imminently build a whole environment on my own local pc and try to debug this tool. For good, I didn't find any error in the code and the telegrams run perfectly to the tool and got send away to our backend software as they should. In the end my debugging stop in a catch zone in which an error told me that the telegram could not be written into the database. I told the product owner that he install the wrong database version. After he checked the database configuration and update it everything works fine for tomorrow.

After the work, I did not code on my App as I normally do. Today I set up my learning plan for the next 6 weeks in which I want to learn as many new skills as I could. First of all, I asked myself which skills are important, which skills have the highest priority on growing step by step to a senior developer. For example to learn everything about docker and Kubernetes makes sense these days, but in my situation, with my actual skillset, it's absolutely wrong. So I try to learn the following skills in the next few weeks:

  1. 10 finger typing on the keyboard

    • using only my keyboard - to increase my productivity and my working flow.
  2. Blog on Hashnode every second day to improve my English.

  3. Read a book about continuous integration as a start to the topic of DevOps. Personally, this topic is so fascinating to me and I hope I could then understand the whole process of building a software product from scratch and ending up on a customer.

  4. Using git with the terminal. Actually, I use Fork as git client at the work. Most of the times everything works fine and Fork makes using git very easy for me. But sometimes I don't not what I have to do and how. So first I try to build up more knowledge about version control and branching workflows and so on. Then I want to understand exactly what's happening in git. So my idea was to use it in the next few days only with the bash.

  5. Using Gitlab for the first time.

  6. Coding my App project further of course.